Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 16th, 2006

New Dish, Well Worth Trying

Dh and I have been with the Army for a few years now, and we have had the chance to live in a couple of very desirable locations, namely Monterey, CA and Hawaii.  We’ve met people from China, Germany, England, Korea, Japan, Louisianna, Rhode Island, and a whole slew of Texans.  It has been a lot of fun. 

Luckily, DH and I are adventurous in nature…especially when it comes to trying out different kinds of food.  We both love to eat, and have enjoyed Mexican and Italian food in addition to the traditional midwestern casseroles and salads and roasts, but I am always looking for something new, so this transient lifestyle has suited me well.  During our travels I’ve learned to make Indian food (naan, curry and lentils are favs), Thai (curry), actual Chinese spring rolls (so great compared to the restaurant version), homemade pico de gallo (thanks to all the Texans), as well as German rouladen, spaetzle, and fondue.  There are many other foods we enjoy, but as of yet, I leave the making of them to the experts.  For instance, Korean bulgoki and kimchee, Japanese sashimi and sushi, Egyptian food in general, and most Thai food are best made by someone more um, ethnic, than I. 

It has been such fun trying new things and experimenting at home with making them.  We really enjoy a variety.

Well, all of that leads me to say that when Dh accidentally picked up a veal roast instead of the lamb roast that I had listed, I wondered what I’d do with it.  I had planned on a couple of rather Meditterranean meals involving mint and yogurt and pitas from that lamb roast, and I was pretty sure veal wouldn’t make a terrific substitute, though it would probably do.  So I got online to find out how one goes about preparing a veal roast, since the only veal I had ever eaten was the veal parmigiana served in Italian restaurants.  What I found was a delightfully easy recipe that made an elegant and delicious meal for us.  So I thought I’d share….

Roast Veal with Mushrooms

  • 3lb boneless veal roast
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (or Marsala wine)
  • 1 Tbsp. flour
  • 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 Tbsp. crushed or crumbled rosemary

Season meat with salt and pepper.  In a skillet, sear meat on all sides in butter until lightly browned.  Remove meat from skillet and brown onion.  Add wine and flour to skillet and stir until well blended.  Add mushrooms and rosemary.  Place roast on a rack in roasting pan.  Pour mushroom-onion mixture over roast.  Roast at 350 degrees for 1 3/4 hours or to an internal temperature of 160 degrees.

This recipe is from the SouthernFood.com

Read Full Post »